Gothyx is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Issue with Login Programming and User Based Settings

Hello,

I'm a bit new here and I'm now on something that's got me entirely stumped.

I have a login form set up, that after the user logs in, it will bring them to the dashboard to do whatever it is they need to do. Recently I added User Settings, that would personalize their experience within the program. Well, the issue I've run into, is that it appears that the login form maybe isn't storing the session or what user has logged in, so whenever any user changes, for example, the color theme, it's changing my account's theme rather than theirs, so it's only changing the theme of the first account and I am just entirely stumped at this point as to what to do when it comes to this. It just doesn't seem to be reading their account and is only applying it to mine.

I'm still pretty new at this since I've only been struggling my way through it for about 6 months without an education in this field. But I'm definitely looking to learn.

I have the User Settings menu with 2 dropdowns, one to activate their notepad so that they can see reminders on their dashboard and the other is to change the theme of the forms, and when they select them, it only affects my account and not theirs.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Why are users allowed to change themes? This is design modification.

How should Access 'know' which user is logged in? Are you saving the user ID to a global variable or to a textbox on a form that stays open for reference? Is a bound form opened to the user's record?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Gothyx is offline Novice