Naz is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Question Total noob needs a helping hand?

Hiya folks,
    I'm trying to build a required training DB for the employees at work. I have exactly 2 days of experience "playing" with Access. Here is what I have so far.

I have an employees table which includes fields for employee #(PK), first name, last name, address, department ID, and Team ID.

I have a Department table which includes Dept ID(PK) and Dept Description

I have a Teams table which includes Team ID(PK) and Dept ID

I have a Courses table which includes Course #(PK), Description, format, frequency, and whether or not it is a regulatory requirement (yes/no)

Here is what I want to be able to do.
    See employees within a department and within their respective teams. This works

See the regulatory required courses for an employee and by department. I'm lost and have no clue

Have an easy way to see what employees need or have completed a certain course by course number. Lost again

Pull up a department and/or an employee and have a report of what courses are recommended for a certain year. ie. some course frequencies are 36 months so they may not need them this year. Totally lost.

If I could please get some advice on these things I might be able to figure out the rest.

Thanks so much,
    Naz

jbarrum is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    The first thing you need to decide is how you define required courses. Is that defined by what the course is (so it will be requried by all employees). Or will the requriement be based on what department or team that employee is in?

These things make a huge difference in designing your table structure.

Naz is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Hi Jbar,