data808 is offline Noob
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Macro or Formula?

Let me start by saying I am very new to Access and am trying to learn as I go. I am not sure if what I need is a macro or formula.

I have a table with records. I created a form to reflect and to enter more records because these records were exported from another database program called Alpha version 4. I now have the form designed structurally the way I want it. In this form I have some date and number fields that represent the amount of days a person will be on a trip. The clerk will enter this information, however, for the date fields, if possible, I would like these to auto-fill the date of when they will return.

Example:

In field A I will enter the date of departure (1/7/2014). In field B I will enter (90) which is the amount of days I will be gone. Then in field C I would like it to auto-fill the date of when I will return which is (3/7/2014) 90 days later. So basically I want it to calculate from the start date to however many days I enter to give me the end date of when I will return.

Any help in how to get this done would be great. Thank you for your time in advance.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Are you saving the number of days into table? If so, it is not necessary to save the end date into table. Calculate it whenever needed: [StartDate] + [DaysGone] - 1. The -1 is to account for the StartDate as day 1.

If you must save the calculated value, will require code (macro or VBA). I use only VBA.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

data808 is offline Noob
    Yes I am saving the number of days. How would I go about doing the calculation along with making some kind of field box that displays the end date?

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003