tv69 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Automatic Split of Excel Table to two Access Tables that are linked...is it possible?

Hello,

I'm new to MS Access and new here. I'm working on a project using Excel, mainly because that is how the person has been running it so far. I believe MS Access will be a better solution and thus I'm here to learn more and try things out.

I will describe a simplified example for what I am trying to do. I have an Excel file that lists Car Models in Column A, Transmission Type in Column B, and Car Color in Column C. There is a lot of duplicated information and it would be ideal to use a relational database to eliminated duplication of data.

Car models in Column A may include VW Jetta, VW Golf, VW Passat, VW Toureg, Porsche Turbo, Porsche Carrera, Porsche Cayenne, Porsche Panamera, etc...

Transmission Type in Column B will include Automatic and Manual, for each of the models listed.

Car Colour in Column C will include Black, White, Blue, Silver, Gray, etc... for each of the Transmissions and models Listed.

So VW Jetta will be duplicated in Column A a total of 10 times with the example above (2 transmission choices and 5 color choices for each transmission), as will all of the models listed.

In Access I can create 3 tables for each of the columns in the Excel Spreadsheet, each table with its own primary key ID AutoNumber.

The examples of linking the data between tables that I have seen thus far are all manual. You include a similarly named foreign key in the related table and populate it with all the variations. But I already have my variations stored in the Excel Spreadsheet. Is there a way to achieve all the desired variations in the related access tables automatically by use of the Excel file or by some other manner. The example I have provided is a simplified version of what I am trying to do and manual linking at this point seems cumbersome, tedious, and error prone with thousands of records.