Todd84 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Mass Import Repetitive Txt Files

My goal is to have a static directory address on my desktop be where I put thousands of txt files every week. Some nice features are as follows:

1. all columns will have the same names from week to week
    2. the de-duping by hand has been flawless
    3. the files names are the same from week to week.

My first step is to delete all files with the characters "_" and "-" present in the file names within this specific folder.

Here is a bit of code I wrote that ends up crashing my computer. I've been learning VBA code for about 2 months so still some learning to do.

Sub KillFile()
    Dim MyFile As String
    Dim File As String

MyFile = Dir$("C:\Users\Desktop\Data\5 min\us\nyse\1\*.*")
    On Error Resume Next
    Do While MyFile <> ""
    If InStr(1, MyFile, "_", vbTextCompare) > 0 Then
    File = MyFile
    Kill (File)
    Else
    If InStr(1, MyFile, "-", vbTextCompare) > 0 Then
    File = MyFile
    Kill (File)
    End If
    Loop
    End Sub

once this is done, there is a whole bunch of other steps I want to do. This first bit will help simplify later steps for me. Then I can just scroll right through the whole folder.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Doesn't really crash the computer - it appears to be stuck in an infinite loop. Unless you have a Break key on computer, just terminate Access with the X close or Windows Task Manager.

Did you run Debug Compile? Missing an End If line or combine the Else and the following If into an ElseIf, however, your code still bombs. Consider:
    Code:
    Sub KillFile()
    Dim fs, fl, f, X
    Set fs = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemobject")
    Set fl = fs.GetFolder("C:\Users\Desktop\Data\5 min\us\nyse\1")
    Set f = fl.Files
    For Each X In f
        If InStr(1, X, "_", vbTextCompare) > 0 Or InStr(1, X, "-", vbTextCompare) > 0 Then
            If Dir(X) <> "" Then Kill (X)
        End If