GregL65R is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Update queries sometimes very slow

I've been tasked with updating an Access 2007 database. I have a lot of experience with Excel VBA but not much with Access or any other database.

I was asked to add 3 fields. That involved adding them to several tables, queries, and sql statements in the VBA code.

When I was done, it worked, but sometimes some of the update queries are very slow when run over the network -- a few minutes instead of a few seconds.

I haven't been able to get it to run slow from my local machine, but that isn't an option for production. For production it needs to run over the network.

It isn't always slow over the network, sometimes it's fast. However, the backup from before I started always runs fast.

The affected update queries are not ones that I changed. Also they don't reference fields that I added, even indirectly such as with select *. They explicitly reference fields that were already there when I started.

I tried Compact and Repair on both the code database and on the data database. I was surprised that both ran very quickly, only about a second or so. The code db is getting close to a gigabyte, and the data db is about 33 MB. Is it possible the compact and repair didn't really run? How can I check, and what can I do if it didn't really do a compact and repair?

At the time I started, the code database was about half a gigabyte. Now it's 900MB and seems to be growing fast. I can't imaging that my changes added all that size. It has some temporary tables, but they get cleared out each run. Is it possible this database has become corrupt?

Thanks,

Greg

Dal Jeanis is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    1) When you say "Code database", do you mean the front end?