Ruler9 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

how to store values into a table using DLOOKUP function in the access form

Hello to everyone,

I have a certain problem, for which I read many advice on the web but still cannot apply any of them to solve my problem. Possibly because I am a beginner using access and not very well familiarized with the access terminology.

So, I successfully managed to retrieve data to a form text box in an access form, but these data are not saved in the underlying table so as to continue building my database. How can I do that ?

Please give me simple explanation so as to understand what to do.

Can it be done without using VBA?

Thank you in advance

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Must use code (macro or VBA) to save calculated value. Usually a bad idea to save calculated value. Calculate when needed.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/209172

Are you saving as foreign key the primary key that links to record with the value retrieved by DLookup? Why do you need to save both? Maybe what you really need to do is join tables to retrieve related information. Or use a multi-column combobox to show the associated data.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Ruler9 is offline Novice
    It is designed like this:

The 1st field in which the primary key is assigned is an autonumber data defined. So, each time it takes a new number in the form, there is another field in the form which is connected with this 1st field and takes a certain value using Dlookup function. But I need this value also in the table , not only in the form, because I need to use this value to do calculations with other fields of the table.

Hope I gave you all the necessary details to understand. Do you have a solution to my problem?

Thanks in advance

June7 is online now VIP