Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35
  1. #1
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19

    Lightbulb Records

    Hello ,



    I would like to create a stores receiving and dispatching database. I would like to know how would one go about setting up a table structure to allow the following:

    I would ideally have 4 tables. 1.Stock Items 2.PO Numbers 3.Recieving 4.Dispatch

    What I would like to accomplish is to receive/dispatch stock on existing stock codes attached to a PO number.

    Therefore I would like to try and create something where I can enter a PO number and list multiple stock items to that number. When displaying the record of the PO number thus would return the items attached.

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Usual approach is to have a table related to PO_Numbers that has records of the items associated with that purchase: PurchaseDetails

    Not sure what Receiving and Dispatch are for.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19

    Lightbulb Records

    Good Day, Thanks for the response,

    1. I receive a list of PO_Numbers that are generated from an online database and imported into a table.
    2. When receiving the stock the PO_Number is used and stock items from an available list, and the opposite when dispatching changing the stock levels of the stock items.

    Thanks in advance.

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    You could have one table for the in/out transactions with another field for the transaction type. In either case, can use a form/subform arrangement for entering the transactions. Main form bound to PO_Numbers and subform(s) bound to transaction table(s). Find existing PO on the main form or enter new PO then enter the related transaction records in subform(s).
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19

    Lightbulb Records

    Hello June7,

    Please see attached at what I am trying to achieve.

    Thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Form and subform have same data source. That's not how should be. Reread my previous post and review http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...010098674.aspx

    Also, if the combobox is intended to be just input for filter criteria, it must be UNBOUND.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Hello June7,

    I have made attempts to access the list of poa numbers from the drop down and select the product from the Sub, but the data seems to be saving incorrectly.

    I did read through the link supplied I just cannot seem to come right.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    If you want to provide latest version, will analyse.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  9. #9
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19

    Records

    Database1.accdb

    Hello See attached, thanks for the response

  10. #10
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    The unbound combobox to select PO will accomplish nothing.

    I don't see that you have attempted what I suggested about the form/subform design. Both forms still have the same data source.

    Linking the forms on the same field from the same table will accomplish nothing.

    Your data structure is still not correct.

    Appears you need a better understanding of relational database principles and the use of form/subform.

    Consider a conventional business db model: A purchase order is a transaction to buy product. A sales order is a transaction to sell product. Those are three entities for the db. Customers and Suppliers are two more entities. Customers are related to Sales and Suppliers are related Purchases. Products are related to Purchases, Sales, Suppliers.

    tblSuppliers
    SupplierID
    SupplierName
    Address

    tblCustomers
    CustomerID
    CustomerName
    Address

    tblProducts
    ProductID
    ProductName
    SupplierID

    tblPurchases
    PONum
    PODate
    SupplierID

    tblPurchaseDetails
    PONum
    ProductID
    Quantity

    tblSales
    SalesNo
    SalesDate
    CustomerID

    tblSalesDetails
    SalesNo
    ProductID
    Quantity

    In your case, you receive a list of items associated with a purchase order and dispatch items by some other instrument. Do you care to document who from/to? A very simple model:

    tblStock
    StockID
    StockNum
    StockDesc

    tblMovement
    MoveID
    MoveType (Rec, Dis)
    DocID (PONum, DispNum)
    MoveDate
    StockID
    Quantity

    If there can be multiple stock items for each instrument, split tblMovement in two and have a Details table. Use form/subform arrangement.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  11. #11
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19

    Records New

    Hello June7,

    I shall give this a try and give you some feedback, I really do thank you for all your assistance.

    Griphon

  12. #12
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19

    Lightbulb Records New

    Hello,

    I have attached an update, I would just like to know once I have filtered my Item, how do I retain the DocNo and add the selected item to the record?

    ThanksDatabase2.zip

  13. #13
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,726
    Griphon,

    Start with an overview of WHAT your business is. Identify the Entities and attributes of each. Using you business description determine the relationships among your tables. Create a data model of what you are trying to build.

    Work through this tutorial to get an appreciation of the steps involved in database design.

    Good luck with your project.

  14. #14
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    What DocNo are you referring to? MoveID should be the autonumber primary key.

    A record in tblMovement should have either supplier or customer, not both. For proper normalization, there would be only one field for person/company ID in tblMovement.

    Using tabs for Receiving and Dispatch doesn't really help. Still need to pick the MoveType from a combobox.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  15. #15
    Griphon's Avatar
    Griphon is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19

    Question Records

    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    What DocNo are you referring to? MoveID should be the autonumber primary key.

    A record in tblMovement should have either supplier or customer, not both. For proper normalization, there would be only one field for person/company ID in tblMovement.

    Using tabs for Receiving and Dispatch doesn't really help. Still need to pick the MoveType from a combobox.
    Hello June7,

    The DocNo is a list of Purchase order numbers that I receive from a third party app, I would use supplier on incoming stock and customer on outgoing stock. The reason for the tabs is that I can have a text box with a default value on each of the pages to auto insert the move type.

    Thanks in advance again

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-28-2013, 04:00 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2013, 11:36 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2013, 05:50 PM
  4. Access 2007 - Creating New Records Based on Existing Records
    By GeorgeAugustinePhillips in forum Forms
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 05:58 PM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 03:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums