TPH_AF is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Assigning matching IDs from one table to another / MultiSelect Listbox

Hi all,

I've been struggling with this problem for a few days now...I'm not that experienced at Access, so hopefully I'll be able to explain it properly for everybody.

A while ago I was tasked with creating a compliance testing database for my company's internal processes. For example: Payments, Hiring, Project Management, etc. Right now it's all done through Excel and is structured like this:

Compliance Test 01:

-----|Sample1|Sample2|Sample3|etc...
    Item1|GradeA |GradeB |GradeC |etc...
    Item2|GradeB |GradeA |GradeC |etc...
    Item3|GradeC |GradeC |GradeA |etc...
    etc...

In short, a Test has many Items (based on company regulations, like "Has the project been approved by all superiors?"). For each Item you choose a few Samples ("Project A", "Project B" and so on), and for each Sample the user attributes a Grade ("In Compliance", "Not In Compliance", "N/A", etc).

I've uploaded a barebones version of the DB so you guys can see what I mean.

In the Tests mainform, the user fills in the Test details (Tab #1), chooses which available Items he wants to include in his test (Tab #2), details the Samples which will be tested (Tab #3) and finally assigns a Grade to each Item/Sample combination (Tab #4).

Here's what I can't figure out (please let me know if I should create a separate topic for each question):

1) In the subform sfrm_Items_CTs_List (Tab #2): Is there I way I could assign multiple Item IDs to the same Compliance Test, using the listboxes provided? I wanted the user to assign multiple items at once, leaving out maybe one or two that aren't applicable to a specific Test. Assigning the Items one by one would be too cumbersome.