Jrzy3 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 64bit

One form insert multiple records

I am a newbie at this!

My question is how can I use a form to insert multiple records (up to 20) from one form? There are six (which includes the AutoID) columns within the table, but I want to enter data in five columns...of these five columns I want to only enter four of the five once and the remaining column will be different values. For example:

Table: Hours
    Columns:
    AutoID (Self Explanatory)
    Item Number
    Vehicle ID
    Date
    Hours
    Shift (Morning = 1 / Afternoon = 2)

I have the AutoID because there is an instance where the other info could be the same, so that is what ensures there is a unique record for each.

If possible the form will look like the example below...

Vehicle ID: Date: Hours: Shift:

Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:
    Item Number:

Or do I have to list Vehicle ID, Date, Hours and Shift each time as well?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Use VBA code to set the DefaultValue property of each of the 4 data controls (textboxes or comboboxes) with the values entered for the first record, then those values will carry forward to each new record until different values are entered. Put code in the BeforeUpdate event of each data controls, like:

Me.controlname.DefaultValue = Me.controlname
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Jrzy3 is offline Novice
    This is where I am going to need additional help...with the code and form.