csmmsc is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Question Query Table (or report?) to pull information from multiple tables

Hello,

I'm new to Access, so please go easy on me

I am trying to create a simple database to help us plan our folders and permissions on a new file server at work. I have 3 tables: Users, Groups and Folders. The way it works is I give different Groups permissions to different Folders, then add Users to the Groups.

This all works, but I need a Query (or Report?) that shows me a list of Users and all the Folders they have permission to. If anyone can help me how to do it, or point me to a tutorial, I'd greatly appreciate it.

See the format below I want it in... this data is taken from the example file below.

Query Table Format
    User Read Permissions Write Permissions
    Chris C S:\ J:\Design, O:\

Link to Example File

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=37B09CB4A1C7773A!12179&authkey=!AJwrlf qzV81JsKE

Thanks in advance!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Usually, I would refer you to: http://allenbrowne.com/func-concat.html

However, your db is not normalized because you are using multi-value fields. Allen's code can handle multi-value field if that is the field that needs to be concatenated. BUT, your multi-value fields are the fields with linking values needed to join tables in query. This greatly complicates what you want to do.

I NEVER use multi-value fields.

To normalize structure, since Folders and Users can associate with more than one group, each should be split to two tables. Consider:

tblFolders
    ID

tblGroups
    GroupName
    Description

tblUsers
    ID
    UserLast
    UserFirst

tblUsersGroups
    UserID
    Group

tblFoldersGroups
    Group
    FolderID
    AccessCode (R, W)
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

csmmsc is offline Novice