Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mcalpi18 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Using command buttons to create a new record and populate several fields.

Hello,

I have been assigned the task of creating an extremely easy to use interface using microsoft access to record weld quality.. I have pratically no background with access but am eager to learn. I have been working on this database for over a week now and and seem to have hit a brick wall.

I have a Master table that I would like to populate using command buttons from my form. I would like to setup command buttons so that when clicked they will create a new record and populate the fields of this record with specified values or text.

In reviewing several forums I am led to believe that the code should be something along the lines of:

Here is what I beleive my code should look like but I cannot get anything to work!
    Option Compare Database

Private Sub Command24_Click()
    Master.Entry_Date.Value = Date() - I would like this to be the current date
    Master.Plant_Area = "URS" - I would like my table's (Master) Field (Plant_Area) to be given the text URS
    Master.Station = 9 - I would like my table's field (Station) to be given the value of "9".
    Master.robot = 1
    Master.weld = 1
    Master.Score = 2
    End Sub

The part that is after the "Me." is the field of the table I wish to populate. and after the "=" is what I would the new record to populate the field with.

But after trying this several times without success I am back to the brick wall.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Sincerly Thank you,
    Matt
    Last edited by mcalpi18; 10-23-2013 at 10:01 AM. Reason: Updated Code

ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Welcome to the forum.

First you should visit Roger Carlson's site and read the tutorials. It will help you understand some basic concepts.
    http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/f..._topic237.html