Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ditogui is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question Unable to retrieve data on Comboboxes


    Hi,

    I'm in a situation that a an acess application is not retrieving data when the user clicks on Combo box. The solution for now is to reinstall the Ms Access on the workstation. Only after reinstallemnt, the system is working normally. The problem is that i have to do same all days.
    Can someone tell why is this happen? is there any file or library that is getting corrupted?

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,912
    Not enough information to offer a suggestion. Tell us a little about your system. MultiUser system? Split with FrontEnd and BackEnd? On a Network? Have you applied all of the service packs and HotFixes to your Office 2003?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  3. #3
    ditogui is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4

    Cool

    RuralGuy

    Thanks for your reply

    - Yes, Is a MultiUser system.
    - Yes, is Splitted between FrontEnd and BackEnd. Tables are stored on backend on a server, but temporary tables, forms and queries are on frontend on each workstation.
    - I Have applied service pack 3.
    - No HotFixes of Office were applied. Can you suggest any?

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,912
    There is a HotFix for SP3. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/945674 Do *all* of your users have their own copy of the FrontEnd on their own PC? That is a very important point.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  5. #5
    ditogui is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4

    Smile Unable to retrieve data on Comboboxes

    Thanks RuralGuy

    I have applied this HotFix for SP3(//support.microsoft.com/kb/945674 ) and is working fine now. but continue to monitor tomorrow as this problem pops up on next day after any reinstallation.
    Yes, *all* of my users have their own copy of the FrontEnd on their own PC.

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,912
    That's great! We'll be here if there are any further issues.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  7. #7
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,912
    If the problem is resolved then go ahead and follow the link in my sig and mark this thread as Solved.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  8. #8
    ditogui is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks a lot RuralGuy

  9. #9
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,912
    You're more than welcome.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Cascaded comboboxes in a form
    By luca in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 05:36 AM
  2. subform comboboxes/Textboxes
    By terryvanduzee in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 07:41 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 02:11 PM
  4. Refreshing comboboxes in a subform
    By KB_Dev in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-2009, 12:12 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2007, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums