Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Zekii61 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8

    Question Adding column(s) to a table

    Assignment : Add two new columns to a copy of the departments table, sec0611_departments. One new column, a text column, will be the name of the manager department. The other new column, a numeric column, is for the annual budget of the department.

    As of right now I know how to start the code, which (if not mistaken) should look like;

    alter table sec0611_departments


    add column ' ______ '
    add column ' ______ ';

    My question is, what value do I insert in place of "name of the manager" (ex. manager_id, first_name?) and same goes for the numeric column. Price? credit_limit? budget?

  2. #2
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,726
    I question the assignment.

    Managers come and go. Some get promoted, some get fired, now and then one quits or dies.
    How would having the Managers name or id in the department table handle such an event?

    Have you tried Google?
    http://bit.ly/19sRY9E



    Good luck.

  3. #3
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    What is preventing you from going into design view of sec0611_departments an adding the columns there?

  4. #4
    alansidman's Avatar
    alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    2,529
    @ItsMe.

    I'm guessing this is a homework "assignment" that requires the OP to add the columns using SQL

    @Zekii61

    Here is a good tutorial site on SQL

    http://www.w3schools.com/sql/default.asp

  5. #5
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    Quote Originally Posted by alansidman View Post
    @ItsMe.

    I'm guessing this is a homework "assignment" that requires the OP to add the columns using SQL
    That helps to explain why I haven't found a need to programmatically add columns to a table. I am a dropout.

  6. #6
    alansidman's Avatar
    alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    2,529
    @ItsMe

    Doesn't make any sense in Access where there is a GUI. It is something you would probably do with other db programs that don't offer GUI.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 06:40 AM
  2. adding new column to recordset
    By pradeep.sands in forum Forms
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-09-2013, 11:53 AM
  3. Adding labels in new column
    By Hello World in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 08:57 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-2011, 04:29 PM
  5. Adding new column to make-table query
    By dtn118 in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2008, 06:51 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums