wes228 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Possible to enter data in three dimensions?

I am relatively new to this. I am trying to design a database and need to store data in three dimensions. I have a list of faculty members at our university and need to record data about their salaries and the courses they teach. However, I also need to keep a record for each semester as well. I would like to have the faculty + salaries + courses laid out in a "Fall 2012 Semester" table, for example, and then stack the "Spring 2013" semester table on top of it, etc to make one three-dimensional table.

Otherwise, it appears that I will have to create a separate table for each semester and repeat the list of faculty members.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    M-Theory suggests this is possible. You need to look at Access as a Relational Database Management System. This is actually the answer to your question. Access is an RDBMS.

So your two dimensional spreadsheets will in fact layer upward into a third dimension within an RDBMS because you can tie them together with relationships or what is known as Primary Keys represented by Foreign Keys. Some activity, of your choosing, can represent your semesters within one table because this table will hold a Key that represents a unique identifier within the table that describes the given record of the given semester's description.

Dal Jeanis is offline VIP
    Okay, you're making your life difficult. Head over to Roger Carlson's site at http://rogersaccesslibrary.com and review his free tutorials on database design and application design.