Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Richard B is offline Novice
    Windows 2K Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2

    Command line to update records

    Hello

    I have subform, when I click on an item in a list box, it will filter the subform with the necessary records.



    In the subform, there is a Yes/no field where I can check/uncheck for records to export. There is also a command button that updates all the check boxes to true if I wish check all the records. The code behind the check all button loops through the recordset and updates accordingly. It is abit slow and was trying out a update command to speed things up but was not able to do it.

    How do we write an update command for a "subform/recordset clone"?

    Thank you in advance for your help.

    Regards
    Richard

  2. #2
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    Not my forte, but maybe a SQL Update Statement will be faster. Something like this:

    Code:
    CurrentDb.Execute "UPDATE NameOfTable SET NameOfTable.YesNoField = -1", dbFailOnError


    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    Richard B is offline Novice
    Windows 2K Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for taking time to help

  4. #4
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    That's why we're here!

    Welcome to the forum!

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. calling mdb from command line.
    By gsd in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2012, 08:17 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2012, 11:30 AM
  3. query Access databases from the command line
    By xinelo in forum Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 09:08 AM
  4. VBA and command line
    By dsk96m in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 08:06 PM
  5. Pass command line parameters
    By lanto3000 in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2010, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums