Accesshelp2013 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Better to link to 500-1000 excel sheets, or upload it all into access?

Hi,

I have some design questions for a project I’m working on for work which requires creating a database and I’m fairly new to access—although I use excel quite frequently and do various financial modeling tasks in it. I have about 500 contracts that I model individually in excel (will probably grow to at least 1000). For each of these contracts, I determine investment amounts that the client should invest into them each month and project how much I think the investment will be worth at the end of the month. The excel output of the model is a schedule going forward of 720 months(rows) and about 22 columns worth of data. I want to put each of these schedules in access so I can query the data across 500 policies. Here are some sample queries I would like to run, “For all 500 policies, what is the total investment amount for November 2013? What is the total projected worth of the investment at the end of November 2013? Etc.

Here are the access design questions:

1. What is the best design way to accomplish this? It seems that uploading 500 tables of 270 rows and 22 columns is a lot of data and would make the database excessively large. It looks like each table adds about 1.5mb to the size of the database. So 500 would be like 750mb. And if I had like 4,000 it would be at least 3gb. Is this a lot for a database? Would it be better to store the excel outputs on the harddrive and link to them via access somehow? Is there a tutorial on how to do this?
    2. If it’s better to upload the tables into access, is it better to do so as an individual table linked to each contract or as part of one large table that holds all the data in one table. It seems to me that the former is better as the latter takes the risk of somehow corrupting the entire file(not to mention how large it will be).

Thank you for your time.