Lulu is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

I need help with Prefilling and auto filling fields in an access form

I'm building an Access database for a QC department. While entering data on each inspection some of the fields will stay the same for about 200 entries. How do I make the info in certain fields stay from form to form? Also, how to change the info when they start on a new product? I'd also be interested in figuring out how to once I select lets say a part number from a drop down menu make the next field "product description" auto fill?

I am in desperate need of guidance. I am a novice and although I have experience with working in access I have never built a database. I am just learning most of the terms used in Access.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    If the information stays the same for about 200 entries, it is possible you don't have data structure sufficiently normalized and/or need a form/subform arrangement.

One way to carry forward a value to next record is to set the DefaultValue property of the control. Review http://access.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0012.htm

You should not be saving the product description, only the product ID.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Are the 200 fields Yes/No or True/False answers?

You can build a form with many (200) questions and place a check box or radio button on the form to answer yes or no. Your 200 radio buttons can be bound to a table that logs quality control inspections. At the table you can set the default value as False, there is not a problem.

This is not a full description to the solution. It is a question to determine how feasible your approach may be.

Lulu is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013