Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    sanchez is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17

    How to open form in a same window

    Hello this might be an old question..
    i have a database with all form's properties turn into Pop Up form..
    my situation is, lets say, the main form is the Personal info of my students, then when I click the Open Form comand button, which is suppose to open another form let say Guidance form (in pop up form as well) but, i need that form to be open in that same window, not overlapping the previous form..


    Thanks for helping.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    How about setting the Personal Info form invisible until the user closes the Guidance form?

  3. #3
    sanchez is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17
    oh how to do that.?
    by the way i'm a beginner and glad to learn more

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    What do you have in the Open Form command button?

  5. #5
    sanchez is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17
    I'm not really sure..i only pick up that button from Design Tab and follow the wizard..
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled2.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	13568
    well if u see that picture that i've attached, thats is my problem..I dont want the 1st form still there when i click the Open Form Buttons..

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    With the 1st form in Design view, right click on the OpenForm button and display the properties sheet. On the Event tab under the Click event, click the "..." button and what do you see?

  7. #7
    sanchez is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	121212.png 
Views:	9 
Size:	28.8 KB 
ID:	13569
    looks like this..they used embbeded macro..

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    If you could convert it to code, I could show you how to change it. It is under the Design tab when you have the form open in design view.

  9. #9
    sanchez is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17
    '------------------------------------------------------------
    ' cmdOpen_Click
    '
    '------------------------------------------------------------
    Private Sub cmdOpen_Click()
    On Error GoTo cmdOpen_Click_Err

    ' _AXL:<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16" standalone="no"?>
    ' <UserInterfaceMacro For="Command58" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/accessservices/2009/11/application"><Statements><Action Name="OpenForm"><Argument Name="FormName">frmNewPelajar<
    ' _AXL:/Argument></Action></Statements></UserInterfaceMacro>
    Docmd.OpenForm "frmBiodataPelajar2", acNormal, "", "[NamaPelajar]=" &" '" [&NamaPelajar] & "'", , acNormal


    cmdOpen_Click_Exit:
    Exit Sub

    cmdOpen_Click_Err:
    MsgBox Error$
    Resume cmdOpen_Click_Exit

    End Sub

  10. #10
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Use this code in the event:
    Code:
    '------------------------------------------------------------
    ' cmdOpen_Click
    '
    '------------------------------------------------------------
    Private Sub cmdOpen_Click()
       On Error GoTo cmdOpen_Click_Err
       Me.Visible = False
       DoCmd.OpenForm "frmBiodataPelajar2", , , "[NamaPelajar]= '" & [&NamaPelajar] & "'", , , acDialog
       Me.Visible = True
    cmdOpen_Click_Exit:
       Exit Sub
    cmdOpen_Click_Err:
       MsgBox Error$
       Resume cmdOpen_Click_Exit
    End Sub

  11. #11
    sanchez is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanx for your helps RuralGuy..

  12. #12
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Glad I could help.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to open DB window on a Button click
    By ssashraf in forum Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2012, 12:39 PM
  2. Different reports open in same window
    By detjo in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 03:35 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2011, 03:16 AM
  4. How to open form in a window, not maximized ?
    By peshonzi in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 06:52 AM
  5. Open Outlook window but don't send
    By Paul Taylor in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 11:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums