Kimmcdt is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Combining select data from several tables into one report

I have Access 2007. I have 5 tables that I need to pick fields from to make a report. When I run a report, I get the proper headings but no data appears. I can run a report on one table and that works great. But not what I need. I am not experienced so need someone to walk me through this.

This is supposed to be better than Excel but I am now wondering.

First table - Drug Info has 12 cols and I want to pick 2 for my report.
    Second table - Regulatory Info has 13 cols and I want to pick 2 for my report.
    Third table - Specific Info has 9 cols and I want to pick 1 for my report.
    Fourth table - CDR Infor has 12 cols and I want to pick 2 for my report.
    Fifth table - BC has 26 cols and I want to pick 3 for my report.

I tried using a query and I tried using a report and all I ever get are the column headings with no data. Arghhh. HELP!

NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    well.....

first; does the query, when run by itself, return records?? Its possible you have joined the query in such a way that the valid result is no records. So whenever you have a report sourced on a query - - and there is no data showing; you must sanity check whether or not the underlying query actually has data; if so - check that your report property is not having a filter.

a join of 5 tables is perhaps not feasible depending on whether or not there is a single cross referencing field valid in all 5 tables.

have you considered sub-reports? sometimes this is the only - or better - way to implement a report; again this is depending on whether there is or is not cross referencing fields (key fields) and whether all 5 are a 1:1 or whether you have 1:Many relationships between tables.

Windows XP Access 2007

Access Relationships

I find your response hard to follow because I clearly do not know what I am doing.