acedeno is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Question Visibility based on whether table field is empty

Hello I'm new to using access and I'm having trouble with syntax for using VBA on a report in Access 2007.
    I need to some hide 3 text boxes if one of my fields is empty in a table. The table name is: 'ALM-RESP' with rows grouped by: 'TAG NAME' and the field I'm checking is: 'Rev 002 Author'. I've tried having a rectangle to cover it up but I'm having trouble using the IsNull command and setting the visibility of the rectangle. Here's my code:

Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
    If IsNull([ALRM-RESP]![TAG NAME]![Rev 002 Author].Value) Then REV2BOX.Visible = False

End Sub

Basically I'm having trouble checking if the field is empty and then setting the visibility. Any advice?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    VBA syntax is not correct and a rectangle control should not be needed:
    If IsNull(Me.[Rev 002 Author]) Then Me.textboxname.Visible = False

Is this report filtered to a single record or are there multiple records listed continuously in detail section? The above might not work for continuous records.

An expression in textbox ControlSource should accomplish:
    =IIf(IsNull([Rev 002 Author]), Null, [fieldname])
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Like I said I'm new to access so I don't quite know what the terms filtered to a single record or continuous records means.
    But I have grouped my data by TAG NAME with a Forced Page Break after a TAG NAME footer since I want a new page for each TAG NAME (with the corresponing data on the page of the report).
    Control Source doesn't quite work because I have a border on the text box that I need to disappear as well.