vincent-leeway is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007

Why MS-Access programming?

Actually I am primarily a VB programmer, I see many of my colleagues doing access programming for every thing, right from writing SQL queries to writing program logic. Are there any real advantages by opting for access programming than much advanced VB or C# except the very obvious price factor?

Dal Jeanis is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Your question has me scratching my head.
    1) If you are storing information, the question isn't Access vs C#, the question is Access vs MySQL or Oracle or SQL Server or ... etc.
    2) Access provides a simple, convenient platform for small, self-contained applications that store and process information, especially if they need to use Microsoft automation in order to drive other Microsoft applications.
    3) The Access visual interface is a convenient way to quickly write SQL queries - that IS the purpose of Access - although for complex queries I prefer to code my own (and I wish the darn product would stop eating my carriage returns).
    4) Access VBA is not very different from the other dozen VBs that I've worked with. It's appropriate for self-contained applications, and it is interoperable to other Microsoft applications and to other database products with the usual compatibility caveats that you always run into.
    5) I don't know of any "obvious price factor" involved in deploying Access versus the other potential architectures for such applications. If there is one, then that would be enough.

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)