ianpwilliams is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Newbie question about an Access project where forms adjust data on multiple tables

Hi everyone. I've been trying to put together a project using Excel, and I really think Access is the better way to go. But I have very little knowledge of Access. The idea of the project is this:

There are a group of offices which transfer work between them. One office only transfers work out, and the rest all transfer to each other. There is also a transfer in process in each of the offices (apart from the first one which only transfers out), in which they confirm the number received. So I created the following tables:

TABLES

"Office" Table (which stores the names of the offices)

Unique ID (key)
    Office Name

Records:

(offices)

“App Type” Table (which stores all of the App Types)

Unique ID (key)
    App Name

Records:

(App types)

"Office Stock" Table (which keeps a record of the stock in each office) (one table for each office)

Unique ID (key)
    App Type (taken from "App Type" table)
    Number in Stock

"Transfers" Table (which stores records of all transfers between all offices)

Unique ID (key)
    Source Office (taken from "Office" table)
    Destination Office (taken from "Office" table)
    Volume Transferred
    Consignment Number
    Source Office Comments
    Destination Office Comments
    Volume Confirmed as Received

FORMS

"Transfer Out" form (one for each office)

The "Transfer Out" form would have these at the top:

Unique ID (key) (invisible)
    Destination Office (taken from "Office" table)
    Consignment Number
    Source Office Comments

Below that, there would be:

Column A - a list of all of the App Types (taken from the "App Type" table)
    Column B - the available number of each App Type (taken from the "Office Stock" table for this office)
    Column C - the Volume to Transfer field (which must be equal to or less than “App Type Number Available”)