RonL is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007

Stuck in table data display - validation error.

Hello, I'm new to Access 2007, but not to relational concepts and design. I'm learning the Access interface by starting a db project. In setting up a table, I entered a validation test for a field in design view, then went to enter a row of data. When the validation test failed on that field, I realized I hadn't understood the syntax of the test, and I couldn't figure out how to make a valid entry. (ie. syntax was valid code, but I didn't know what it required. Dumb, I know.) I just wanted to cancel the row and go back to design, but I could click almost nowhere else on the screen without getting that error message. The only thing I finally was able to do was delete the whole column (and then redefine it). Couldn't find this in the help facility, so a dumb noob question: how do you escape a validation error message loop? A corollary question: I noticed there was a button for testing a validation expression on the menu bar, but it was not enabled? How do you test before being caught in the validation error loop?

Many thanks, Ron

Edit - May as well push my luck and ask this too: What's the proper expression to validate a 10 character string so that the first character is a capital letter and the remaining nine are digits? (I have a mask, but want further refinement..)
    Last edited by RonL; 11-21-2009 at 07:49 AM.

NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Esc (escape) is the key to use to get out of an invalid entry

To avoid your users having the same perplexing/frustrating experience - I would suggest you put the mask in the form; along with a label giving the format example; rather than rule enforcement at the table level.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Would you believe I awoke in middle of the night remembering I'd even used the word "escape" in my post and hadn't tried the key. Doh!