Ecal is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

query to sum totals for month using sql

I am trying to create a query that using the fields: ID, Purchase Date, Name of Institution, Items Purchased, Amount, Type of Receipt, and last four card #
    in TblReceipts

here is what I am trying to do:
    Run a query to show up on the bottom of frmReciepts that will populate the table above so that every time the user opens up the form it appears the update to the total for that month and updates as the user inputs current receipts the current month as well. so take for instance we have Month: February Number of transactions 7 total for month: 190 and the user inputs a receipt for February
    of the amount of $80 then Number of transactions would display 8 and the total for the month would be $270 at the bottom when the user inputs another receipt. I am very new to SQL and I am trying to learn but some help here would be greatly appreciated.

One Method You Might Try

I think I have this straight.

You have a form called frmReciepts (I left that ie as you typed it)

This form is used to enter receipts. At the bottom of this form will be a subform that will provide a monthly summary, based upon the same table and the beginning and ending dates of the month.

Every time that someone enters a receipt, you want the subform to refresh the summary data.

So, given that you only wanted two fields, the record source for the subform will contain SQL something like the following:

Code:
    SELECT COUNT(*), SUM(Amount) 
    FROM tblReceipts
    WHERE PurchaseDate BETWEEN startofmonth AND endofmonth