momani is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

unable to edit data in query with complex relations !!!

helloo

I will try to explaine the problem that I have faced....
    this is my first time designing a database .
    I am using MS access to design a DB, and I have constructed the tables with the relations btween them .. some tables have "parallel" relations mainly "one to many".

now I can not edit the records in a query when I includ with parallel relations.

*I mean by parallel that two child tables taking their reference from a third parent table
    thanks in advance

Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Your opening question Screams out that your relationships are incorrect for some reason.

You could try to explain every table and its joins data type etc. Or it may be easier to take a screen dump of your relationships window. Just do your best to make it as clear as possible.

momani is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	relation.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	49.6 KB 
ID:	12328

I hope it is more clear now :P
    the problem starts when i inserts boths tblanswerRef and tblQusetion
    thanks in advance for you help

I assume you are using Autonumber as your Primary Key.

It would help if you maintained some naming conventions. Make sure both the Primary and Foreign Keys have ID after them. Usually people would use exactly the same name for both.

When you do this the Primary key will go Bold

You should when using AutoNumber have only one primary key and this should never be seen by the users.

There are a few more problems but what I have told you may get you out of trouble. I you want to fix the others we can also do that.

It is 1:00 AM here. I have to get some sleep. I will look again tomorrow to see how far you have progressed.

Someone else may jump in and assist while I am away.

Problem Appears to be Missing Relationships