Richiebob is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Replacing one value for another

Hello all, this is my first time using a site like this for help, so please excuse me if I do it wrong. I tried looking through the forum for my issue, but I am not sure how to even put a search on it, so here it goes.

I have a field in table 1 called field 3. This field is made up of multiple items listed in field 2. So for example,

Field 1 Field 2 Field 3
    1 Bob (null)
    2 Frank Bob, Joe
    3 Joe Bob
    4 Sara Bob, Joe, Frank.
    etc.

What I need to do is replace the strings with the proper value in field 1. The number of items in field 3 can be up to an unknown number of items, from 1 to n.

What I am trying to get to is:

Field 1 Field 2 Field 3
    1 Bob (null)

2 Frank 1,3
    3 Joe 1
    4 Sara 1,2,3
    etc.

Any help would be greatly appriciated. I do not mind creating a macro or using a query. The main this is that I would like it to be automated for the most part and I do not want it to be specific towards just one set of data, so I had another database with different data, I could do the same thing.

Thanks again.

Beetle is offline Unrelatable
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Welcome to the forum.

Now let's see if we can figure out what you want to do here;

Code:
    Field1     Field2                   Field 3
    1          Bob     
    2          Frank Bob, Joe
    3          Joe Bob
    4          Sara Bob, Joe, Frank.
    So in the above example, in the first row, since Bob is the only value in Field2, and this is Bob's row, you want nothing in Field3.
    In the second row, with Frank Bob and Joe in Field2, since this is Frank's row you want to ignore Frank but list the ID values for Bob and Joe in Field3.

Is that about right?

I can't help but think this is some kind of kludge due to an improperly normalized table structure, but I'll bite. Why do you want to do this?

June7 is offline VIP