Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    David618 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Newbie now ready to start the show - autoexec suggestions - ?

I think I now have everything the way I want it (many thanks to several on this forum!), but now I want to create and autoexec macro to run when I kick off the database. Basically, I would like it to hide all of the ribbons, menus, shutter bar, etc. so that no wise guys/gals are able to mess up anything - or venture where they're not supposed to and just open up the Log In form (frmLogIn the only form that pops up and appears centered on the screen). At the same time, I would like to be able to bypass that action myself in order to get in there and make any revisions (or debug!) when I need to.

I'm sure there are different ways/ preferences, but being a newbie, I want it to be as simple (and low fear) as possible. My initial thinking was to create a simple autoexec macro that can be bypassed by holding the shift key. I'm certainly willing to keep an open mind about it, but (again) simplicity is certainly my preference. Any suggestions?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Many of those options can be done in the project settings - File > Options > Current Database.

The only thing I have used AutoExec for is to disable Ctrl+p shortcut because VBA can't do this for the entire project in one action. I use VBA to customize ribbon.

Holding down shift key while opening db will override macro execution and most project optional settings.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.