bubba61 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Parts Interchange Database Design Help

Hello, I am a novice with Access. I want some help in designing a database. I work for a new car dealership parts department and have wanted to create a database to store part number interchanges between the OEM dealer and aftermarket. At our dealership, we are constantly shopping parts for our customers in our service department either because of price or availability. In our small town, we have 4 parts stores and it can take up to 15 to 20 minutes to call each parts store to locate a part. Usually each store has particular brands, which involves an application lookup each time. My thought is it would be much quicker if we could already have the interchangeable part numbers available. So I thought it would be beneficial to develop a database to accomplish this. I am thinking that I need at least 5 tables. A table (Manufacturer) to store manufacturer information, which would include fields “Man_ID,” Man_Name,” “Man_Address,” “Man_City,” “Man_State” and “Man_WebAdd.” A table (Brand) to store parts brands, which would include fields “Brand_ID” and “Brand”. A table (Product_Desc) to store part descriptions, for example Oil Filter, Air Filter, Spark Plug etc. It would consist of fields “Product_Desc_ID” and “Product_Desc.” A table (Product_Part) to store part information such as part number, warranty info, and notes. The fields would be “Part_ID,” “Part_No,” “Warranty,” and “Notes.” A table (Store) to store Parts Store information, which would consist of fields “Store_ID,” ” Store _Name,” “Store _Address,” “Store _City,” “Store _State” and “Store_Phone.” Do I need other tables to tie some of these tables together? I also was wondering if I need to consider using a “Master Parts ID” to tie all interchangeable part numbers together? If so, should I also consider using a systematic auto number field, such as AF0001(for Air Filters), OF0001(for Oil Filters), SP0001(for Spark P