barryg80 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Updating one date field based on another

Hi folks,

I am a newbie to Access and so struggling with something that I'm sure should be more straight-forward than I am making it.

I have a simple database of 2 tables. Clients table and Tax Returns table.

I am trying to add some automation to the form used for inputting the tax return info by updating the value of one date with to be 28 days after another. So [Field_B]=[Field_A]+28. How to use this formula is my basic dilemma.

Initially I tried setting the default value of Field_B but discovered you cant do it like that. Then I started looking at calcuated queries and i can get this to create a new field in the table with the updated dates in it but I cant work out how to put this on the form?

Lastly I tried to go into the properties of Field B on the form by setting the default value there but it doesnt seem to update the form/table?

Where am I going wrong here?!

Many thanks in advance

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    You don't want to store calculated values in your table, ever, it's a really bad practice.

If you are looking for a tickler (let's say you want a reminder in 28 days to contact someone) then in a query you'd have an additional field that was something like:

ReminderDate: dateadd("d", 28, [Field_A])

then in the criteria of your reminderdate field you could have something like
    =date()

where you're looking for any reminders for today's date

Quote Originally Posted by rpeare View Post
    You don't want to store calculated values in your table, ever, it's a really bad practice.

If you are looking for a tickler (let's say you want a reminder in 28 days to contact someone) then in a query you'd have an additional field that was something like:

ReminderDate: dateadd("d", 28, [Field_A])

then in the criteria of your reminderdate field you could have something like
    =date()