PPat is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Making an Append Query move specific record(s)

Hi everyone,

I am a college student working on an Access database for my job. To give a quick overview, I am creating a database where the records of individual students are to be moved to different table depending on where they are in the graduation process. In order to do this, the secretary will enter the student in the "90 Hr Request" table (think of it as the first step), and move them down the line of tables (4 in total) until the final "Completed" table. Each table in the progression has more and more fields. However, a student (with their ID number as the primary key) can only be in one table at a time.

I understand this does not sound like a traditional, normalized database. However, this is being used more as a filing system than anything else. Their data is primarily paper based (for legality reasons), but wishes to keep it organized in a database so they can run queries and print reports.

Currently, I am creating a macro that will run specific queries (in an order). I have made an append query that will move the records over, then I used a update (to null) and delete query combo to delete the old individual record. I made the delete + update query work by using a selected criteria.

However, I cannot get figure out how to make the append query move only one student's record at a time. I am competent in VBA, but not as much in SQL, so a simplified explanation would really appreciated. If you need other pieces of information, please feel free to ask and I will provide. Also, any other tips you can give me would be appreciated since I'm still new to DBs and would like to learn more

Thank you for your time
    Pete

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    What are you using now to append the record?

You can use an INSERT SELECT with criteria in the SELECT part.