Jimmy Shoe is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Record data on form to table only when hitting the "record button"

Hi,

I am new to Access and don't have any SQL experience. I have a form to input some information and save it to a table using a "Record" button. Is there an easy way to only add the information to the table by clicking the record button and not by, for example closing the form?

Thanks

Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    By default, Access will save any new Records (or any changes to existing Records) as soon as you "leave" the Record. This means that if you browse to a new Record on the Form, it will automatically save changes for you.

If your Form only allows you to view a single Record at a time, or if you have special requirements, then you can create a button with the following command in it's On Click Event to force Access to save the Record immediately:

Code:
    DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSaveRecord

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    I believe Rawb misunderstood your intent
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy Shoe View Post
    ...Is there an easy way to only add the information to the table by clicking the record button and not by...closing the form
    To circumvent the default behavior of saving a Record when the Record is moved off of or when closing the Form, you'd have to use an Unbound Forms, and this is not really something for the inexperienced developer to attempt. Several developers I know, experienced in Visual Basic database development and Access development, estimate that development, using Unbound Forms, by highly experienced developers, takes two to three times as long, using Unbound Forms, as it does when using Access and Bound Forms. That's because with Bound Forms, Access takes care of the 'heavy lifting,' but with Unbound Forms, the developer has to write code to take care of just about everything.