Oscar.Ingalls is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

How to capture totals... or sums... or something

Ok, so here it is. I have a fairly simple DB use to track incidents. This is an enterprise system covering 65 locations under 7 different units. I need a very simple report that basically counts the total open issues divided by a count of issues without an action taken against them by unit.

I tried to figure out how to do this on a query but have no idea how. I know how to count a single total on a report, but how to go beyond that I've got nothing.

I'm very new to this, I have zero skill in VBA. Help?

Rod is offline Expert
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Should be able to get your counts via an aggregate query (no VBA!) but I can't be certain until I have sight of your db design. Are you able to post it? Publish as v2007 or earlier - or provide a picture of your data relationships.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DB relationships.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	88.5 KB 
ID:	11445I Can't upload the DB as it's already populated and is big. Does this help?

Aggregate query? What and how?

Rod is offline Expert
    Relationship diagram (also known as a Bachmann diagram) is fine; we can work with that. I note however that you have not specified relationship types. This is not critical when specifying queries so you need not rework anything now. How familiar are you with the Query Design Grid - the one you see when you follow Create/Query Design? I don't want to spend time and effort giving you unnecessary instructions.

An aggregate query is the more usual SQL term for what MS Access refers to as a 'Totals' query.

I'll need to prototype (copy) your db so that I can give you meaningful help. Leave it with me for a while.

Silly question, but how do I send it to you? It's 3.75mb after I cleaned it up. I can load it into my dropbox or something.