manda is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit

Catalog Design

Ok...I'm going to try to find a way to phrase this without (hopefully) just confusing everyone. I just have a few questions about the design I chose for my database. I created a database for cataloging my artwork. The tables I have right now are:
    • Name of Artwork (which includes columns for the name, type of work, customer, occasion, occasion, and cost)
    • Customer
    • Occasion
    • New or Copy
    • Cost
    • Due Date
    • Tasks

I broke my tables up like this because I am brand new to Access and it was what made sense to me. The first table basically contains tabs inside of it that are the same as the tables I created. So...I guess my question is, in my first table (Name of Artwork), should it only contain the name of the artwork? Should I delete the other categories inside of it since they have their own tables? And either way, yes or no, my second question is: I haven't started working too in depth with relationships and other things yet, but could someone clarify if my way of thinking is correct: When I get to the point where I am making queries, if I want to make my database so that I can search for the name of a piece of artwork and have not only the name, but all of the other information (customer, cost, etc) come up, then do I make relationships between all of those tables and each individual piece of artwork?

I hope that makes sense....if not, please let me know and I will try to clarify it even more. I'll include a screenshot of my tables just in case it helps. Thanks to anyone who reads for their time!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	125.7 KB 
ID:	11333

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    This is for a retail operation selling art?

Why is there a table for DueDate and table for Costs? What is table NewOrCopy for?

Recommend no spaces or special characters/punctuation (underscore is exception) in names.