squirrly is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Relating multiple tables to main table and each other

I'm rethinking my design and can't figure out what I need to do to make these relationships work. Hopefully this explanation will make sense.

I have my main table with many independent small tables related to it. Not a problem.

MAIN TBL

PetID (pk)
    StatusID (fk)
    ColorID (fk)
    AgeID (fk)

I have other small tables that need to relate to the main table....

TypeID (fk)
    BreedID (fk)
    GenderID (fk)
    PatternID (fk)

.....where Breed, Gender, and Pattern also need to relate to Type.

BREED TBL
    BreedID (pk)
    TypeID (fk)

GENDER TBL
    GenderID (pk)
    TypeID (fk)

PATTERN TBL
    PatternID (pk)
    TypeID (fk)

Do I use a junction table between the main table and these other tables that also relate to the Type table?

JUNCTION TBL
    PetID (fk)
    TypeID (fk)
    BreedID (fk)
    GenderID (fk)
    PatternID (fk)

I'm an eternal rookie by trial and error, it seems, so thanks for your kind advice!

(PS - am working with Dreamweaver's server behaviors for inserting/updating records, so the design must comply.)

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Can you give a 5-6 line description of the opportunity/problem you are trying to solve in plain English?
    What are the processes and things involved, and how they relate? Try to avoid jargon, make it simple so we can understand.

The subject is lost and found pets. Each pet has a type (cat/dog/bird). Each type has a list of breeds, genders, patterns, etc. My dropdown lists for breeds, genders and patterns, etc. will depend on the type, but must also relate to that one pet.