allochthonous is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Corruption problem Access 2000 - long, but please read

Hello.

I am a mostly self taught Access newbie with only 6 months experience. I have had a couple of light online courses and a LOT of help from a coworker/friend with quite a bit of Access knowledge. I have been developing a front end/back end database in Access 2000 for work, to be used on a network. The back end will be located on the network, with the front end users having their own local copy of the front end. The back end contains all data entry tables, data compilation queries, and reports. Currently the project has 26 tables (5 linked to external sources), 390 queries, 25 forms, 15 macros, and 481 reports. I would say that I am 80-90% finished and have begun some light beta testing. Though it seems like an impressive piece of work to me, I realize that it is probably not much when compared to other "professionally" built databases.

Here is my problem:

I had just finished creating a bunch of reports and assigning the reports to the corresponding buttons on my latest report menu form. After I closed the database and reopened it, I received a warning: "The Visual Basic for Applications project in the database is corrupt." From then on, I could not do anything without that error message popping up and could no longer even access the VBA code. Luckily, I keep an archive of every day's work at the end of the day, so I had only lost about 2-3 hours of work. I reverted back to the previous version, but ran into the same problem after creating a few reports. My coworker is currently using Access 2003, so we tried to run my database through it, and it seemed to work OK, but I was skeptical. Also, not all of the users of my database may have access to 2003, so I wanted to keep it as 2000 friendly as possible.