kreativ05 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Question Macro or VBA for opening a form in particular record

Hi guys,

I've been bashing my head for a couple of days and I "hit the wall" ...I am a noob and self tought in Access07 but I'm trying to do the following:

I've got a form (Clients_F) that has a subform in datasheet view with a list of quote numbers made by each customer, I have managed to make a Macro after a few hours and googling, that opens another form (Quotes_F) so that it can be edited when a quote number is clicked, but I wish to be able to open Quotes_F as a new record when the empty field under the numbers column in the list is clicked.

Also want to know if it's possible to mantain the Customer's details pre-filled?...I am guessing that this is done through the CustomerID(PK & FK)?

I tried doing it via a Macro or VBA but my knowledge is limited...pls be gentle, still learning!!!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Client is synonymous with Customer?

'empty field under the numbers column in the list is clicked' means nothing to me. However, code can check for conditions and open form in the appropriate mode - to existing record or new record. Requires If Then Else or IIf structure.

Where do you want the Customer details to show? Isn't that what the main form Clients_F would show?

I use only VBA, not macros.

If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thanks June7...

Client is synonymous with Customer? ....Yes, sorry brain freeze (Spanish DB to English question )

'empty field under the numbers column in the list is clicked' means nothing to me. However, code can check for conditions and open form in the appropriate mode - to existing record or new record. Requires If Then Else or IIf structure.