Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35

    Combo box


    I have 3 tables and want to use a form to enter data in one of the tables. In the form I want to have a combo box where I select a value and that value is linked to another value that I want to show in the form. How can I accomplish this.

    regards,
    ekmoorhead

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Not sure what you mean by 'linked to another value'. Maybe this is what you want: http://datapigtechnologies.com/flash...combobox2.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35
    Your link shows a blank page.

    regards,
    ekmoorhead

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    It should, after a few seconds, start a video tutorial. Here is the page with links to all DataPigTech's Access tutorials http://datapigtechnologies.com/AccessMain.htm
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35
    Still cannot see your links. Waited for downloading and nothing. The links are not showing neither.

    regards,
    ekmoorhead

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    First time ever someone had problems with those links. What browser are you using? Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome all work for me on those links. Can you try another computer? Even my old laptop opens those tutorials and I can hardly ever open web videos on this PC.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    First time ever someone had problems with those links. What browser are you using? Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome all work for me on those links. Can you try another computer? Even my old laptop opens those tutorials and I can hardly ever open web videos on this PC.
    Thanks for the hint. It was that I didn't have Flash on the computer.

    Regards,
    Ekmoorhead

  8. #8
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    It should, after a few seconds, start a video tutorial. Here is the page with links to all DataPigTech's Access tutorials http://datapigtechnologies.com/AccessMain.htm
    Your video tutorials are great. However, what my question is: I have a combo box that is 2 col. Is there a way to show both values after I have selected a value from the combo box? Your tutorial shows how to change the value in the combo box, but what I want is to show the values after I have selected it.

    Regards,
    Ekmoorhead

  9. #9
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    The value shown in the combobox is from the first column that is not set with 0 width. You can concatenate fields into a single column. Example

    SELECT AcctNum, AcctNum & " : " & LastName & ", " & FirstName As AcctCust FROM tablename;

    AcctNum would have ColumnWidth of 0 and is the BoundColumn so that it is the value saved to bound field (the ControlSource) but the concatenated value will display.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  10. #10
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35
    How can I show "none" as the first lookup record in a drop down combo box? I have a category combo box that shows the category and aisle for an item. More specifically, I want to be able to select none when I cannot find a category in my lookup box.

    please help.

    regards.

  11. #11
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Depends on whether the field is a number or text type. Number type cannot save 'None'.


    If text type, options:

    1. 'None' is a record in a lookup table

    2. set the combobox DefaultValue to None. When new record created the field will show None and save that unless user selects something or deletes the 'None'

    3. A UNION query to 'create' a record in the combobox RowSource
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  12. #12
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35

    Combo box

    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Depends on whether the field is a number or text type. Number type cannot save 'None'.


    If text type, options:

    1. 'None' is a record in a lookup table

    2. set the combobox DefaultValue to None. When new record created the field will show None and save that unless user selects something or deletes the 'None'

    3. A UNION query to 'create' a record in the combobox RowSource

    Please advise What does number 3 mean?

    regards.

  13. #13
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Example:

    SELECT "None" As AcctNum, "No Customer Account" As AcctCust FROM tablename
    UNION SELECT AcctNum, AcctNum & " : " & LastName & ", " & FirstName FROM tablename;
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  14. #14
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35

    Combo box

    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Example:

    SELECT "None" As AcctNum, "No Customer Account" As AcctCust FROM tablename
    UNION SELECT AcctNum, AcctNum & " : " & LastName & ", " & FirstName FROM tablename;

    Thanks have a happy new year.

    regards,
    ekmoorhead

  15. #15
    Accessuser67 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    35

    Combo box

    Quote Originally Posted by Accessuser67 View Post
    Thanks have a happy new year.

    regards,
    ekmoorhead

    Actually, I tried your recommendation with the set default value to none and that didnt work.

    please help.

    regards.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2012, 09:12 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 10:29 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2012, 10:02 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-12-2012, 02:58 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 05:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums