Jmeyering is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Balance forward generation on Petty Cash Report

I have a pretty simple database that I'm using to record petty cash transactions. I have a form filtering the report based on whatever date range is selected, but what I need is for my report to display a balance forward amount and then perform the simple calculations off of that value.

My db is set up as

TblClients:
    ClientID
    FirstName
    LastNAme

TblPettyCashTransactions:
    ClientId
    DepositAmount
    WithdrawlAmount
    TransactionDescription

I have my report filtered by date values, what i need is somehow look up and Sum([DepositAmount])+Sum([WithdrawlAmount]) from Transactions Table based on the ClientId in the group and with dates < the first record of the grouping.

If you need any more help understanding I can upload a stripped down DB for you to examine. I really appreciate your help, I'm fairly new at this and hopefully I can learn a bit more from the experts. Thanks in advance!

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    You can use DSum() with the appropriate criteria to get the value. Here's the syntax:

DLookup Usage Samples
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

I've tried that in the past, but I don't believe it group's on the clientid, but instead does calculations on the entire database. Anyhow, here is the syntax I'm using currently and its throwing a Type error

=DSum(Sum([DepositAmount])+Sum([WithdrawlAmount]),[tblPettyCashTransactions],[tblPettyCashTransactions]![TransactionDate]<[TransactionDate])

Also getting the value is one the first problem I'm having, is there any way to also have a running balance after each transaction. IE, print a report showing balance forward, then the first transaction factors in the balance forward to get the running balance, but transaction 2 only calculates off of the running balance.