jmwheatley is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Automated Letter Composition

Hello all, noob here,

I have a more general question, unless you guys have more specific answers for me.

Scenario: My company has to compose letters to accompany map products that have to be sent to every community involved in a particular study. This is repeated for every study (usually county-wide), and the task is very redundant. Currently it is done manually and well, I know there is a better way.

Before the letter composition begins, one member of the team researches information regarding each community. They capture information such as Primary Contact's Name, Address, etc. Along with that is information internal to our company that is needed in the letter. All of this information input into an MDB.

There is a deduction matrix used to determine the content of the letter, based on specifics (attributes in the table) of the project for that locale. There are 7 different letter options (templates).

What I would like to do is have Access and Word communicate to automate this letter generation. I've tested Word's MailMerge functionality and was able to see how this can be done. But I'm looking for further automation.

What I would like to happen is this:

1. Have Word access the MDB and look for the letter number for each record (field = LETTER_NUM), and launch that template.
    2. Populate the template with the information where it is needed. Using MailMerge or another method that will work the same way.
    3. Save the document with a specified naming convention. This can even point to a field in the DB if need be.

Ideally, this would be automated for every record in the DB. Essentially, running as a batch.