amenitytrust is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Query not returning all expected results

Hi folks,

hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction. I'm no expert (as you'll soon be able to tell) and welcome any advice.

I've created a database to log one of my companies annual events. In this event volunteer groups go out and clean up a roadside or beach. Each group registers and then submits a survey.

I have 3 tables:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tables.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	127.2 KB 
ID:	9790

I use the following query to pull information from all three tables:

Code:
    SELECT tbl_groups.sal, tbl_groups.firstName, tbl_groups.surname, tbl_groups.address1, tbl_groups.address2, tbl_groups.address3, tbl_groups.address4, tbl_groups.address5, tbl_surveys.areaCleaned, tbl_surveys.commCounArea, tbl_surveys.bags, tbl_surveys.funding, tbl_surveys.confirmed, tbl_registrations.regID, tbl_surveys.surveyID
    FROM (tbl_surveys INNER JOIN tbl_groups ON tbl_surveys.[groupID] = tbl_groups.[groupID]) INNER JOIN tbl_registrations ON (tbl_groups.[groupID] = tbl_registrations.[groupID]) AND (tbl_surveys.[regID] = tbl_registrations.[regID])
    WHERE (((Year([tbl_registrations.plannedDate]))=Year(Date())));
    Since this is the first year that the database is in operation the number of records generated by this query should equal the number of records in tbl_surveys. However, tbl_surveys has 139 records at present and the query returns only 130. I can see which 9 records have been omitted (by using the find unmatched query wizard), but cannot see a reason why.

I thought that I maybe needed to use a LEFT JOIN in the above query, but anytime I do (in either JOIN expression or both) I am told "JOIN expression not supported".

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

John

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Try making all your joins Left Joins from the "tbl_surveys" table to the other two tables.