lzuke is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

How to include multiple age range categories in table design

Newbie here.
    We are converting a task previously done on spreadsheets, so it's not terribly complex, but I'm stuck.

The 8 different offices in our govt organization all do community events. For each event, the office must report the following:
    --Office where event took place

--Date of event
    --Name of the Event
    --Room event took place in
    --Type of event (children's event, adult event or public use)
    -- AND for each of four AGE RANGES, the number of people who attended the event (Age Ranges are Age0-5, Age6-11, Age12-18, Adults) Our staff just does a head count at the event and enters the four numbers. This is the part that is stumping me!

In my first database attempt I did not try to make a separate table of age ranges, but just listed each Age Range as if it was a completely unique field in the Events Table. It was easy to make my data entry form this way because I WANT all four age ranges to SHOW on the form so staff can just enter the quantities in the proper field. I can make my reports just fine from this set up SO FAR, but I feel that it's not proper database structure to list these age categories separately. But I don't know what table structure to use for this.

Hope I provided complete information.

Rod is offline Expert
    Interesting question! You may get many different opinions.

Strictly, the number of people in an age-range group is a derived value. Similarly the age of a person is derived from that person's birth date. Just to complicate matters further it may occur that the authorities change their age-range groupings in the future. Age ranges are a contrived concept.