tcarp is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Creating table using data from linked ODBC connection

I am relatively new to Access and have been struggling with this for a while. I can use any help I can get. Thanks in advance!

I am creating a database to track patient case loads for individual providers. Some patients are seen by multiple providers. The goal is to have the patient in the database only once, but have the option to list multiple providers within the record.

I have created a Select Query that links to an ODBC table to pull patient demographic information from the electronic medical record system. The query pulls all of the data that I need correctly. I have created a Form titled "Home". The "Home" Form has buttons that run different Macros. I want to be able to click one button on the "Home" Form to run the demographic query and search for a specific patient ID. I was thinking that it would be helpful if I could set it up so that, on click, I could enter the patient ID and it would search the linked ODBC connection for that patient's demographics and then automatically add that patient to the patient list table, along with all of their demographic information that I need.

I hope this makes sense to someone. Like I said, I've been beating my head against the wall trying to figure this out and I just can't do it on my own. Thank you!!!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    You want to duplicate the data from the ODBC linked table into a local Access table? Why duplicate?

This would probably involve an sql INSERT (APPEND query) action.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

tcarp is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007