Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    555Rage is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Forms to generate Purchase Orders(PO)

Hi, I'm a complete newbie at Microsoft Access. I have been attached to a company for my Industrial Training Programme and have completely no experience in using Microsoft Access 2010. Right now i have gone on youtube and watch several videos but is still vague on the programme itself.

I am tasked to create a database for their buying and selling of parts and items.

I have done a "Price Database" in 1 table which consist of the following field: Description, Model, Unit Price and supplier.
    I have also done an empty template which will be my Purchase Order(PO) once its filled. It should have the field: Description, Model, Unit Price, Supplier, Quantity, Total.

I need to create a "search page" using forms where users will search using a combo box on the fields supplier and model on the "price database". Once user has found the record(part) that they want, he/she will enter the quantity that they want and click a button where the record with the quantity will be added to that empty template. PO may consist of more than 1 parts.

The PO will than have to be exported into excel which is their company's "main format".

Thanks for anyone that is willing to help me in advance.
    CHEERS

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Have you done any research on Database design? Or Normalization?

When you identify one of your Tables as "Price Database", I think you are missing some basic concepts.
    Excel and Access are very different "tools".

Please read this paper re data base principles.
    http://forums.aspfree.com/attachment...achmentid=4712

To get a "feel " for normalization and relationships, I suggest you read the first 3 topics here
    http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/forum/topic238.html

Good luck.