Question Database design for simple inventory

Hello all! I am brand new to Access and to this forum (this is my first post). I am trying to use Access to setup a simple data base to enter my inventory into (I own my own repair shop). The data will be simple. I need to create tables for the following: item number, item description, supplier, manufacturer, item category (software, hardware, network appliance, custom program, etc.), item price, and number of items in stock. I would also like to eventually add information for phone numbers, addresses and url's of the suppliers and manufacturers and maybe a memo field for the items to allow for a more lengthy description or installation notes if needed. I bought a book (Access Bible) thinking it would help but I am totally lost. I understand the need for good planning and with that in mind I figured it would be best to get some help early on. I think I'm going to need at least three tables to start: one for the items, one for the Suppliers, and one for the Manufacturers. but I need help deciding which data to include in each table and how I should setup the relationships among the tables themselves. Can anyone offer some guidance? I know this is probably easy stuff for the initiated, but again, I am a total newbie to Access and would appreciate any help I can get.

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    The best way to get started is to take an existing template and start modifying it to better suit your needs. Have you looked at all of the templates that ship with Access and that MS has on the Office web site?

Ryan is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003

Smile

Top Tech, I need to learn. So I will try to give you a hand. Might take a few days, but I'll put something nice together for you. Thanks to everyone here because I know I will be asking questions ;p