Andyatwork is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

how to change focus of "next record" button

Hi all,

I'm an access newb (with about one week's experience) and learning as I go. I've been trying to create a form that will show a master record at the top (a named and numbered Business Procedure) that can be navigated through with the standard First/Previous/Next/Last Record buttons.

Beneath that I want a subform that displays a list of teams that are affected by the business procedure.

I've created "tblBusProc" with about 100 records in it, "tblTeam" with 8 records and "tblTeam to BP Junction" with about 250+ records, established the one-to-many relationships and got the sub form to display the teams associated with the procedure.
    e.g., Bus Proc 1 affects teams 2, 3 and 7, Bus Proc 2 affects Teams 1, 2 and 3 etc

Before I added the subform, the Next Record button scrolled through the 100 odd Business Procedures in number sequence (not the Bus Proc Primary Key but a seperate 'Section Number' field (showing chapter and paragraph, e.g., 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 2.0, 2.1 etc).

After I added the subform, the Next Record button is now focused on the junction table referenced by the subform and scrolls through those 250+ records in sequence.

How do I change the focus of the Next Record button back to the Section Number field of the Bus Proc table and not whatever order the junction table happens to be sorted into when the db is opened?

I've spent an afternoon and a morning searching the interwebs and this forum and not found an answer yet. Any answers or advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Andy

Evilferret is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    It sounds like you may have a problem with your data on the form / your SQL joins.

You should not be seeing all 250 records of the child item for each parent item (Unless every single child item is linked to the parent item 250 times in the tblTeam to BP Junction table)