minimal is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Construction Cost Estimating

Hi All

I am fairly new to Access but have been experimenting with it to design a construction cost estimating package. I have previously developed the following concept in Excel, and have seen it used in third party applications, so I am hopeful I can find a solution.

My problem is this:

In order to create construction unit prices (the price for building a brick wall per m2 for example), I need to combine 'resources' to formulate a price per unit (per m2/m3/nr etc).

There are 3 areas to this:

Unit Prices
    Complex Resources
    Simple Resources

I want the Unit Prices to be formulated in a form, with a sub-form to show the build-up of resources in the unit price.

So Unit Prices are made up of Resources:

There are two types of resources...:

Simple Resources: Basic prices from suppliers (a simple table can hold this information) - I.e. Sand/m3 OR Cement/Kg

Complex Resources: Combinations of Simple Resources (Many-Many relationship - complex resources are related to simple resources are via a join table and shown in a query in a query) - I.e. Mortar/m3 = 0.75m3 of Sand + 20kg of Cement. Each Complex Resource combines multiple qty x price per unit of Simple Resources to formulate the price.

A Unit Price then combines both Simple Resources (from a table) and Complex Resources (from a query, which are made up of Simple Resources from the table)

Each Unit Price combines multiple qty x price per unit of BOTH Simple Resources and Complex Resources to formulate the price. I.e. it uses simple raw data + Grouped data from the same source.

This may sound a bit complicated but the above is unnecessary to create the flexibility needed when pricing.

So I have managed to develop the structure to the point that:

I have a Table for Simple Resources

I have a join table linking Simple Resources to Complex Resources