Alsail77 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Criteria based on user input

I am very new to access so please forgive me if this is an obvious fix.

I have a query which searches the database for records and outputs all matches to a continuous form. On Form "Main" there are 2 text boxes where the user can enter the name and the address and run the search. This works.

I added 2 more boxes to limit the search to a date range, DateMin and DateMax. This checks the "NextMaturity" field which is a calculated field which is equal to the earlier of two date fields. I got this to work with the below text as a criteria of the "NextMaturity" field in the query:

Between [Forms]![Main].[DateMin] And [Forms]![Main].[DateMAx]

The problem is the dates are not, and can not, be required and can have null values. Since the user will not always need to limit the search by a date I added a check box on the Form "Main", "Check40". When checked I want the query to include the date as a criteria, when not checked I do not want the date considered. I tried writing and IIF statment along the lines of IIF([Forms]![Main].[Check40]=true, Between [Forms]![Main].[DateMin] And [Forms]![Main].[DateMAx]) (as well as several variations) but this caused no records to ever be returned.

If this is possible and anyone can help it would be appreciated

ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000

Ssanfu - I looked at the link you provided but am at a loss as to how to carry that over to what I need to do. Essentially, if the checkbox at [Forms]![Main]![check40] = true (is checked), I want Between [Forms]![Main].[DateMin] And [Forms]![Main].[DateMAx] to be the criteria. If [Forms]![Main]![check40] = false (not checked), I do not want there to be any criteria filter for this field.