Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Nashskye13 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    12

    Missing data entry fields in my subform


    I added a query to the form that pops up with you go in to create a new referral to filter to a blank form. Now if you click on the "Add Accommodation Information" button the pop up screen is blank. There should be data entry fields. Can anyone take a look at this and tell me how to fix this?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    Here's my standard response to this question:

    Controls don't appear in Form View when three conditions exist at the same time:

    1. The Form is Bound to a Table or Query
    2. There are No Records in the underlying Recordset
    3. The Form cannot have New Records added

    The reasons that a Bound Form cannot have New Records added include:

    1. AllowAdditions for the Form is set to No
    2. The underlying Query the Form is based on is Read Only
    3. User doesn't have Read and/or Write Permission for the Folder where the Data resides.
    4. Folder the File resides in (in versions 2007/2010) not having been declared as 'Trusted'
    5. Form's Recordset Type is set to Snapshot
    6. All Controls on the Form being Locked or Locked and Disabled.

    To see if #2 is the case, from the Objects Dialog Box go to Queries and click on the Query that your Form is based on to open it. Now try to enter a New Record directly into the Query. If you're unable to do so, this is the cause of your problem.

    If your Query is Read Only, follow this link to Allen Browne’s article explaining the reasons this happens.

    http://allenbrowne.com/ser-61.html

    Since you kindly provided a copy of your app (thank you for that) it can be seen that your problem relates to #2, in the first list, and # 1 and #2, in the second list above.

    • The Form in question is based on a Multi-Table Query that has no Records
    • The Form's AllowAdditons Property is set to No.
    • The Query is Read-Only.

    Unfortunately, I don't have time to get into analyzing your app, which appears quite complex, in depth, but the above should point you in the right direction. If you run into problems, post back and myself or others will be glad to assist you.

    Good luck with this!

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    Nashskye13 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    12
    I created a query where that would filter to a clean form on opening. It works but that was causing my pop up subform to be blank. One I removed the filter query, the fields appear again. My properties are set yes to "Add Additions". I tried using a macro but that didn't work. Any other suggestions of how I can get a clean entry form on opening?

  4. #4
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    Sure:
    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Load()
     DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    End Sub
    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Nashskye13 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    12
    This wouldn't work. I got a run time error. I don't understand why none of these are working.

    I want my pop up screen to populate with the data from the record on the table CR Detail Log. Right now it is creating another record.

    Sorry to be a pest but I inherited this db mid-production.

    Thanks for any help you can provide!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    Quote Originally Posted by Nashskye13 View Post
    ...This wouldn't work. I got a run time error.
    When seeking help with errors, it's really helpful if you give the error message/number! Our ESP doesn't always work!

    Quote Originally Posted by Nashskye13 View Post
    ...I want my pop up screen to populate with the data from the record on the table CR Detail Log.
    When seeking help involving Form(s) it's really helpful if you give us the names of the Forms involved, especially when the posted database has eight or nine Forms!

    If the code

    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Load()
     DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    End Sub

    doesn't take you to a New Record, but rather pops an error (just guessing, but probably a 'can't go to record' error, or some such) I suspect that you've left the Filter, that you tried to use before, in place. You cannot, indeed, go to a New Record in a Filtered Form.

    Leave the above code in place and remove the Filtering and see what happens.

    And please, anytime you attach a database, please give a step-by-step explanation, including all pertinent names of Forms, Controls, etc., that is needed to reproduce the problem.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  7. #7
    Nashskye13 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    12
    My apologies for not giving more details. That was exactly the problem. Thank you for your help! Where do I mark this issue solved?

  8. #8
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    Glad we could help!

    Go to the top of your original post and click on 'Thread Tools' then click on "Mark this thread as solved."

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-12-2013, 12:53 AM
  2. Missing data when adding contents of two fields
    By Jamescdawson in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-08-2012, 09:39 AM
  3. Subform, Combo Box, Data entry
    By hellojosie in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 01:29 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-15-2011, 01:58 PM
  5. Data Entry in SUBFORM
    By flsticks in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 08:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums