Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    hawzmolly is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2003
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    77

    Entering form data


    I need to be able to load my form, enter the required data, save the data to my table and then recall the data just saved. I then need to change one or two items and then save to the table as a new entry. My desire is to do this with a button on the form i.e., save button, add new data button, recall button. I need to do this because some of my locations have 1 sub-address while others have several sub-addresses but have 5 of 7 fields with the same data. I don't want to have to retype the same data over and over.

  2. #2
    hawzmolly is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    77
    Sorry - I now have Access 2010 (32bit)

  3. #3
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    'Save' buttons really goes against the way Access is intended to work and frequently cause more problems than it solves. In Access moving to another Record, closing the Form or closing Access, itself, will save a Record. If you simply have to have a 'save and move to a new Record' button, all it needs to do is move to a new Record.

    To 'carry data forward' for some Controls, you can use the AfterUpdate event of the Control holding your data to set the DefaultValue for the Field. From that time forward, until you either manually change the data or close your form, the data will be entered automatically in each New Record.

    Code:
    Private Sub YourControlName_AfterUpdate()
       Me.YourControlName.DefaultValue = """" & Me.YourControlName.Value & """"
    End Sub
    You’ll need to do this for each Control that you want to ‘carry forward.’

    Note that this code/syntax can be used for any Datatype.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  4. #4
    hawzmolly is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    77
    Thanx to "RuralGuy" I find that using <CTRL> + Apostrophe (') works very well and I have a little more control of the data I need to enter.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Lookup values after entering data in form
    By Hulkdog in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 12:31 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 02:38 AM
  3. Entering duplicate data in Form
    By cotri in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 11:45 PM
  4. Question about entering data through form
    By vixtran in forum Database Design
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 07:23 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2009, 12:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums